Tags

, , , , ,


Image

(photo source)

Serves 4
Preparation 45min

I found this recipe in a cookery book I was given recently and it looked adventurous and fairly easy. When I announced making it on Facebook a friend asked: “So what will the kids have?” Hmm… good question. Well, house policy dictates that everyone gets to eat whatever I cook for the day, whether they (or even I for that matter) like it or not. I know many moms resort to cooking various dishes to please everyone but not me. I’d rather find other ways of spoiling my children, like take them to a museum or a theme park.

The reason being I tend to get bored with traditional dishes and often try new things – not always successfully I must admit. I feel that my kids have to be trained to different tastes as well as learn how to politely decline a dish they don’t like when served elsewhere without making a scene.

Thyme is an acquired taste, however, so I would suggest having this dish as an optional in case your family members aren’t as understanding as mine. 😉

500 gr (one packet) of tagliatelle

400 gr / 14 oz cream cheese or Greek anthotyro

10 thyme springs finely chopped

6 medium sized onions chopped into fine pieces

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

4 tbsp olive oil

salt

Heat the oil in a pan on low heat. Not medium-low, low-low! The secret to caramelizing onions is patience and you’ll need about 20-25 minutes of it (or even more if you’ve got time!) Stir every 5 minutes or so and when they’ve turned golden brown add some salt, the sugar, vinegar and half the thyme. Let them cook for another 10 minutes.

 Image

In the meantime, boil the tagliatelle in salted water and drain. Add the onions and serve with cream cheese and the rest of the thyme.

Bon appetit!

